Medical Clearance and Passport for our PCS to Germany

I have spent the last week at various appointments for my DD Form 2792 and DD Form 1466D to complete my medical clearance process for our PCS to Germany. This post is just about what the forms are and what I had to do to get them completed (unfortunately nothing too exciting!)

DD Form 2792: You need to fill out one for each family member requesting travel. It needs to be filled out by their provider (on or off base). This needs to reflect the medical history for the last 5 years. There are additional addendum that need to be filled out if you have children, but I don’t so I’m not sure which they are. This is a packet of about 11 pages and I took it to my doctor. Now, I haven’t been to a doctor in at least 10 years. At first, I was having problems with the doctor since, understandably, she doesn’t know me! But I submitted myself to a battery of tests that included a blood workup, urine test, pap smear, and breast exam (not with a machine, just by hand). That seemed to help and after she determined that I was in good health, she finished the paperwork for me. The only notes she wrote just stated that she didn’t have past medical records (since I didn’t have any!).

DD Form 1466D: Needs to be filled out by a dental provider for all members over the age of 2. I believe that you can take it to the dentist on base but since I am in Oregon and not near a base, I just took it to Green Apple Dental here in Portland. This is just a single sheet of paper and from what I understand, if they check off number 1 or 2 you should be fine. If they check off number 3 then it’s a no-go. In my case, I had box 3 checked because I had a cavity. I just went back, had the cavity fixed, and I got box 2 checked off! It was pretty easy in the end.

DD Form 1466: This form is filled out by your sponsor. The one that I found on the web seemed different than the one DH had, so it may be something that they will have to give your spouse.

Since I am not on base with DH, I will be having a phone referral next week. Someone from the EFMP office is going to call me and ask me various questions. From what I understand, it’s mostly to ensure that I want to go (i.e. I am not being forced by my spouse) and that there are no problems at home such as alcohol or drug abuse, or physical or mental abuse. I will update on this after I have the interview next week and let you know how it went. At that point, they should be able to authorize the paperwork and DH can go get his orders! After he has his orders, we will be able to begin the next steps, like planning for the movers and getting to Germany!

I also drove up to McChord AFB in Tacoma and put in my application for my no-fee passport. I had to take the application that I  filled out on the web and printed, (ask your spouse for instructions as there is a specific way to navigate the online application for the no-fee), a certified copy of our marriage license, a copy of DH’s CAC card front and back, my birth certificate (it has to be the original with a raised seal, it cannot be a certified copy.) and I already had some passport photos taken a few days before so she just used those. The process took less than 20 minutes

If you have any questions, I will be more than happy to try and answer them for you!

13 thoughts on “Medical Clearance and Passport for our PCS to Germany

  1. Thank you SO much for this post. This is the only post I could find of a spouse that lives off base! I couldn’t find any information on how to go about PCSing overseas, so thank you!!

  2. Hi me and my husband have orders to go to germany as well and soon im going to need the medical clearance. This was very helpful! question…did they ask anything about vaccinations?? and how long did the whole process take? I am so nervous for it :$

    • Hi Elizabeth,
      I realize that you may have already had your questions answered but I thought I would reply in the off chance that someone else has the same question (and I’m sorry I didn’t see your post sooner!) The whole process was very much “hurry up and wait”. I think it took a total of about 2 months for me to get to Germany. The medical clearance was not nearly as bad as I anticipated it would be (although I have no health issues either) and no, they never did ed up asking me about vaccines. I hope that your move went smoothly (if you have already!) and that you are enjoying your time in Europe!

  3. My wife and I are getting ready to pcs to Germany as well. She has a dental appointment on Thursday this week and then we will have all our paperwork completed as long as dental goes smoothly. Hopefully we will get a 2 score. How long did it take after that form was submitted to get it back. And how long will it take for her no fee passport?

    • The 1466 gets pushed to your medical gaining unit (in this case Ramstein) and once they approve it here, your losing base *should* contact you although in our case they never notified my husband, he checked in on them practically every day until he got the approval from the medical center. Then we just waited for my no fee (which I suggest applying for as soon as possible). The no fee takes just as long as a regular passport so from 4-8weeks. I applied during a low travel season so I think it only took me 4 maybe 5 weeks. When I received it, it was a Monday and I was on a plane to Germany by Saturday. The whole process took us only 2 months but I know people that it took as long as 6. Hope that helps and good luck!

    • For us it took about 2 or 2.5 months total. It really does depend on numerous factors though. It’s likely that had we been doing this during peak PSC season it would have taken longer (even just receiving my passport would have liked taken longer). I know for some it took 6 months.

  4. Thank you so much for this information. My husband is in another location and I am no where near a base, so needless to say I had no clue where to start this process. This was very informative

  5. Hi! My husband is based in Misawa right now and we are currently blundering out way through all the forms. I completed the 2792 and 1466D but the 1466 has me confused. You said your husband took care of it by himself in Germany? What about the medical provider evaluation on the sheet? How was that completed by him when it was about you? Did you sign it and scan it over to him?

    • Hello!
      The 1466 was completed by my husband and I believe the medical portion is the part that is completed by the EFMP staff when you have your EFMP interview. We are currently going through this process again and recently filled out all of this paperwork (again lol) and my husband also filled it out this time. So I don’t think you have to worry about the medical sections of that form as I believe EFMP will fill all that out (in the case of my PCS to Germany, I had a telephone interview with them, this time it was in person). All that being said, if signatures were needed, he just emailed them to me, I signed them and scanned them back. Hope that helps! Good luck 🙂

      • Hey. So I’m not getting anywhere with this. My husbands first shirt said I needed to go to a doctors to sign off on it myself. I am very frustrated because it’s not an easy feat for me to get to a base and the closest one is Navy anyway. Do you have any suggestions?

      • I’m sorry that you’re not getting anywhere! I took the 2792 to a civilian doctor near me that accepted tricare and they gave me an exam and filled it out for me. As far as the 1466, I’m not sure as my husband really did handle that. Maybe try to take it to a civilian doctor as well? The only other suggestion I can think of is to contact the EFMP office directly and ask them if the 1466 is something that has to be filled out by your doctor or if your sponsor can. They’d be the ones who should know. Just be aware that if you do go to a civilian doctor (and you can find out who accepts tricare near you on tricare’s website) that you may have a copayment. I think I paid like $100 when it was all said and done but it was much faster than trekking three hours to the closest base! Hopefully that helps!

Leave a comment