Journey to Germany and FMO Woes

I know it has been a while since I posted anything bit moving has been a little hectic. I made it to Germany! I wanted to give you all an overview of my experience getting here. After the EFMP screening I got the all clear on my medical to leave. I got a call about mid January that my passport came in so I went up to McChord to pick it up. It was a Monday and DH went to the travel office to see about getting me a flight. After I received the passport, things moved along much faster! By that Saturday I was on a plane! My last plane was the rotator out of Baltimore, so I got to land right I’m base. DH had to go to Frankfurt when he arrived so he had to be picked up by his sponsor. Frankfurt is about 1.5 hours away from KMCC. 

When I arrived, DH was still in lodging but he had already found a place for us to move into off base. They had given him 8 days I believe to find housing. So I stayed two nights in the hotel then it was time to move into our house. 

DH had already contacted FMO for our temporary furniture so we waited for them to arrive. Now, before he signed the rental agreement, the house had been inspected by someone in the housing office. That person told him that the dryer was dirty and since it was we could request a new dryer. So the inspector wrote down that we needed a new dryer. Ok, that was all fine and dandy EXCEPT that he put down an American dryer. I’m sure you may have heard that American dryers (and washers for that matter) are different than German ones. German dryers are condenser dryers so they do not need a vent like American dryers. So when the movers showed up with our temporary furniture, they showed up with an American dryer. We have no way to vent it so he told us that we need a German one. So DH jumped on the phone with FMO to get it switched. The thing is, the man from the moving company didn’t seem too keen to have to wait while DH talked to FMO so he began trying to get me to sign the release for the items. He was very pushy to say the least and pretty much told us, hey I did my part, I brought the stuff, it’s not my fault it wasn’t right. DH was still on hold and with the man becoming very impatient and cross, DH told me just to sign the paper and let the man be on his way. Long story short, we ourselves had to load up the dryer and take it to the FMO office in Vogelweh and switch it for a German dryer. After a stern talking to from the lady at the FMO office about the importance of making sure which dryer you need, we headed home, lugged it upstairs and were finished with the whole silly ordeal. The moral of the story is, don’t let the movers leave if they bring the wrong thing. The lady at FMO said that they should have removed the dryer and brought the correct one before we signed off on it. Since we signed, we had to do it. The good thing is that the dryers are all compact so we fit it in the backseat of our little Honda! 

Leave a comment